University of Missouri

52-12: A Resolution Supporting the Faculty Council in Exploration of More Options in Plus/Minus Grading

PDF of Bill 52-12

Missouri Students Association

University of Missouri

Bill #52-12


PURPOSE: To encourage the Missouri Students Association to support the University of Missouri Faculty Council in exploring additional options in the current undergraduate grading system.

WHEREAS, The purpose of the grading system is to provide a framework in which the faculty can report evaluation of a student’s performance and achievement; AND

WHEREAS, Grades carrying credit are: A+/-, B+/-, C+/-, D+/-, and S. Grades calculated in the grade point average are A+ (4.00), A (4.00), A-(3.7), B+ (3.3), B (3.00), B-(2.7), C+ (2.3), C (2.00), C-(1.7), D+ (1.3), D (1.00), D- (0.7), and F (0). The grades of S, U, NR, and W are not incorporated in the grade point average; AND

WHEREAS, an A- weighs in the general grade point average at a 3.7 but the A+ weighs in at only a 4.0; thus, providing students no incentive to achieve higher than an A; AND

WHEREAS, the entire University of Missouri grading system is statistically off balance by not being consistent from top (A+) to bottom (F-); AND

WHEREAS, the certain members of the faculty council and Vice Provost of Undergraduate Studies have expressed concern with the current University of Missouri grading system; AND

WHEREAS, according to the University of Missouri Registrar, the plus/minus grading system reform can be enacted as early as Spring 2013.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MISSOURI STUDENTS ASSOCIATION SENATE that the Missouri Students Association supports the faculty council in exploring options in alternating or eliminating the plus and minus grading system.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution, if passed, be delivered to the University of Missouri Faculty Council, (Dr. Harry Tyrer, and the President).

Respectfully Submitted,

Xavier Billingsley, MSA President

Lauren Damico, Secretary of Auxiliaries

Nick Droege, Director of Student Services

Steven Dickherber, Chief of Staff

Helena Kooi, MSA Vice President

Zach Toombs, Director of Student Communications

Morgan Adrian, Director of Student Activities

Matt Kalish, Senate Clerk

Julia Schroer, MSA Senator