University of Missouri

46-11: A Resolution Congratulating the St. Louis Cardinals on their Tenth Major League Baseball World Championship

PURPOSE: To congratulate the Cardinals organization for winning its first World Series since 1982.

WHEREAS, on October 27 the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Detroit Tigers 4-2 to win the 2006 World Series, and

WHEREAS, ESPN and Sports Illustrated unanimously picked the Tigers to win the series, and

WHEREAS, the Padres and Mets were also heavily favored to beat the Cardinals in the first and second rounds of the playoffs, and

WHEREAS, several Cardinals players, including Preston Wilson, Game 5 winner Jeff Weaver, and World Series MVP David Eckstein were released from their former teams before joining the Cardinals, and

WHEREAS, Albert Pujols, Jim Edmonds, and Scott Rolen overcame numerous injuries to provide key hits in the series, and

WHEREAS, rookies Anthony Reyes, Adam Wainwright, and Josh Kinney recorded key outs in high-pressure situations, and

WHEREAS, Pitching Coach Dave Duncan revived the careers of Weaver and Game 4 winner Jeff Suppan, and

WHEREAS, Tony La Russa is now the only manager besides Sparky Anderson to win a World Series in both the National and American Leagues, and

WHEREAS, General Manager Walt Jocketty’s mid-season acquisitions of Weaver, Wilson, and Ronnie Belliard played critical roles in the Cardinals’ playoff run.

THEREFORE, be it resolved that the Missouri Student’s Association commends the St. Louis Cardinals for defying the odds to win their tenth World Championship.

EXECUTION CLAUSE: Upon passage this resolution shall be sent to the St. Louis Cardinals 4th Street Executive Offices.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jonathan Mays Chelsea Johnson Corey Gibson
Operations Committee Chair SFRC Vice-Chair Chief of Staff